Meetings & Events

The following list details our range of meetings and observing sessions over the forthcoming weeks.  Admission to our meetings costs just £2.00 per person for society speakers and £3.00 per person when a guest speaker is in attendance.  These fees are used for the hire costs of the meeting venues and for the expenses of visiting guest speakers.  All meetings and events listed are open to all.  Please note that very occasionally it may be necessary for us to change the speaker or subject at short notice, where possible members will be advised beforehand via e-mail.  Our meetings programme is organised by Mrs Peta Jellis who would welcome suggestions for future speakers and topics.

Forthcoming Meetings

Thursday 3rd August:  No Sudborough meeting – Summer Break.

Saturday 12th August:  Perseid Meteor Watch.   Venue to be confirmed.

Monday 21st August:  Lecture by John McEvoy.  Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT at 8pm.  Admission £3.  ‘The Inner Planets’.

Friday 1st September:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Thursday 7th September:  ‘Astronomical Aspects’ meeting at Sudborough Village Hall, Main Street, Sudborough NN14 3BX.  Admission £2.

Friday 8th September:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 15th September:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Monday 18th September:  ‘The Fermi Paradox’ – lecture by Martin Braddock at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston  NN9 5AT at 8pm.  Admission £3.

Friday 22nd September:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 29th September:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Thursday 5th October:  ‘Astronomical Aspects’ meeting at Sudborough Village Hall, Main Street, Sudborough NN14 3BX.  Admission £2.

Friday 6th October:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 13th October:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Monday 16th October: Lecture by Professor Carolin Crawford.  Subject to be announced. Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston  NN9 5AT at 8pm.  Admission £3.

Friday 20th October:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 27th October:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Thursday 2nd November:  ‘Astronomical Aspects’ meeting at Sudborough Village Hall, Main Street, Sudborough at 8pm.  Admission £2.

Friday 3rd November:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 10th November:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 17th November:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Monday 20th November: ‘Rosetta and it’s Instruments’ – lecture by Simon Sheridan at Chelveston Village Hall, CaldecottRoad, Chelveston at 8pm.  Admission £3.

Friday 24th November:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 1st December:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Thursday 7th December:  ‘Astronomical Aspects’ meeting at Sudborough Village Hall, Main Street, Sudborough at 8pm.  Admission £2.

Friday 8th December:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Friday 15th December:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).

Monday 18th December:  Christmas Meeting at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road,Chelveston NN9 5AT at 8pm.  Admission £2.

Friday 22nd December:  Stargazing Session at Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road, Chelveston NN9 5AT from 8pm (weather permitting – check Twitter feed for confirmation).