Meetings & Events

The following list details our range of meetings and observing sessions over the forthcoming weeks.  Admission to our meetings costs just £2.00 per person for society speakers and £3.00 per person when a guest speaker is in attendance.  These fees are used for the hire costs of the meeting venues and for the expenses of visiting guest speakers.  All meetings and events listed are open to all.  Please note that very occasionally it may be necessary for us to change the speaker or subject at short notice, where possible members will be advised beforehand via e-mail.  Our meetings programme is organised by Mrs Peta Jellis who would welcome suggestions for future speakers and topics.

Forthcoming Meetings

 

Monday 16th January:   Mike Frost – ‘Accidential Death of an Anarchist’  Chelveston.

Friday 20th January:  Starnight Observing Session.   Chelveston

Friday 27th January:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Thursday 2nd February:  Steve Williams – ‘A Martian Curiosity.  Sudborough

Friday 3rd February:  Starnight Observing Session. Chelveston

Friday 10th February:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Friday 17th February:  Starnight Observing Sesssion .  Chelveston

Monday 20th February:  Dave Eagle – ‘Pluto and Charon’

Friday 24th February:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Thursday 2nd March:  Astronomical Aspects Meeting.  Sudborough

Friday 3rd March:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Friday 10th March:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Friday 17th March:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Monday 20th March:

“EXPLORING THE SHAPES OF PLANETARY NEBULAE”

Lecture by Dr Nick Hewitt

Planetary nebulae represent the most beautiful phase of stellar evolution. They are popular targets for amateur astronomers and modern techniques enable unparalleled detail to be observed. Nick Hewitt is a former Director of the Deep Sky section of the British Astronomical Association and will explain why such extraordinary shapes arise.

Monday, 20 March 2017 at 8.00 pm

Chelveston Village Hall, Caldecott Road Chelveston NN9 6AT

 

Visitors and Members welcome. £3 per person including tea/coffee and biscuits.

 

Friday 24th March:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Friday 31st March:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Thursday 6th April:  Annual Review Meeting.  Sudborough

Friday 7th April:  Starnight Observing Session. Chelveston

Friday 21st April:  Starnight Observing Session.  Chelveston

Friday 28th April:  Starnight Observing Session.   Chelveston